Accueil > The Secrets of the One Piece Universe: News, Tops and Analysis > Luffy's Transformations: From Gear 1 to Gear 5 Explained

Luffy's Transformations: From Gear 1 to Gear 5 Explained



Monkey D. Luffy is not only the leader of the Straw Hat Pirates but also a force not to be underestimated. Thanks to his Devil Fruit, he has developed special "Gears" which give him immense power. In this article, we will explore Luffy's different transformations.


Luffy Gear 1: Luffy's Base

Luffy's base form is not officially called Gear 1, but it serves as the foundation for all of his future transformations. This form includes iconic attacks like the Gum-Gum Pistol and the Gum-Gum Bazooka.


Gear 2: Luffy's Speed

Introduced during the Water Saga 7, Gear 2 allows Luffy to accelerate his blood flow, thus increasing his speed and power. He developed this form after being inspired by the rapid movements of the CP9 members.


Gear 3: Gigantic Power

During the same saga, Luffy also introduced Gear 3. To activate this form, he bites his thumb and injects air into his bones, greatly increasing the size and power of his limbs.


Gear 4: Tankman, Snakeman and Bounceman

Developed during his training at Ruskaina, Gear 4 gives Luffy several forms, each with their own advantages and disadvantages. Among them, Tankman for defense, Snakeman for speed, and Bounceman for the balance between power and speed.


Gear 5: The Ultimate Form

Gear 5, revealed during the Wano arc, is Luffy's most powerful transformation to date. It allows him to use all types of Haki and manipulate reality, making him an almost unbeatable opponent.


Discover our complete collection of Luffy figurines and his transformations on Gear5World!

Related articles :

Top 10 Important Information about Luffy's Gear 5

Should we say Gear Fifth or Gear Five?

How Luffy beats Kaido?

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

Discover our One Piece Figures